What Is A Diploma?

It’s a new qualification for 14-19 year olds and offers a mix of classroom learning, creative
thinking and real life work experience – all designed to prepare you for wherever you want to go in life.  Increasingly both employers and universities are looking to recruit people that have this mixture of skills.

Diplomas are designed to help you gain life skills such as team working and self management – the kinds of skills that you need not only in your work but in every day life too.

The first five diplomas have already been introduced into schools and colleges from September 2008.

These include Creative and Media, IT, Engineering, Society, Health and Development and Construction and the Built Environment.

Another five will be introduced in September 2009.  These will be Environmental and Land based studies, Business, Administration and Finance, Manufacturing and Product Design, Hospitality and Catering and Hair and Beauty.

A further four will be available from September 2010.  These subject areas will be Travel and Tourism, Public Services, Sport and Leisure and Retail. A further three diplomas will be available in 2011.  These subject areas will be Science, Languages and the Humanities. In total there will be 17 subject areas to choose from.

There are three levels of diplomas that start in year 10 or 12 or above.

Starting in year 10 or 12

The foundation Diploma – equivalent to 4 or 5 GCSEs

The Higher Diploma – equivalent to 5 or 6 GCSEs

Starting in year 12 or above

The Advanced Diploma – equivalent to 3 A Levels

Studying a diploma will mean that you can use your experiences to make future career or study choices.  At the end, you’ll have a better idea of what you want to do next and how a diploma course can help you get there – whether that’s employment, university, college or another study route.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.